Watch out for that deer!

white_tailed_deer_buck2

Justa friendly PSA for all my fellow PA drivers: be on alert for deer crossing the roads!

I’ve been on high alert since about two weeks ago when I did an article about this being prime season for hitting deer. Apparently, their mating season is a perfect storm of time for them to be running around and hitting/smashing cars.

This week is the peak of that season.

Friday, on our way back from dinner, my fiance and I actually came upon an entire pack of deer – does and young deer, all crossing the road/eating. They were within like 5 feet of our car.

I was terrified, noting, like the park ranger told me a couple weeks ago, if you see one deer, there could be more.

So I was freaking out, telling Mike to drive away and let them be, but he was excited and was enjoying looking at them.

It was quite an experience.

Then we drove another 20 feet or so and saw another deer in another location. I was so happy to just park the car and not have to worry about it.

So, yes, please be careful out there – it’s high time for deer out there!

One thought on “Watch out for that deer!

  1. Pingback: Reader Photos: fun with animals | Suquehanna Reporting

Leave a Reply

